Friday, December 16, 2011

Matt Kemp Wins Player Of The Year GIBBY

Congratulations to Matt Kemp for winning yet another award, the GIBBY(Greatness in Baseball Yearly) for Player of the Year.

From's Ken Gurnick:
It's been a few minutes since Matt Kemp last won an award and ... wait ... here's another.
It was just announced that the Dodgers' All-Star center fielder was named winner of the Player of the Year GIBBY.
The Greatness in Baseball Yearly (GIBBY) Award winners were calculated based on four segments of voters that each accounted for 25 percent of the total vote: 1) millions of fans at; 2) media; 3) front-office personnel; and 4) MLB alumni.
The ultimate honors of baseball's awards season, 2011 GIBBY trophies were awarded to Major League Baseball's top player, starting pitcher, rookie, breakout player, comeback player, wow factor, closer, setup man, defensive player, manager and executive, as well as to the 2011 Postseason MVP, with no restriction to league affiliation.GIBBY trophies also honored the year's top play, moment, walk-off, performance, oddity, fan moment and postseason moment from's Must C highlight vault.About the only award Kemp didn't win this year was the National League MVP, which the Baseball Writers' Association of America gave to Ryan Braun, with Kemp the runner-up.
NL MVP Award winner or not, the 27-year-old Kemp batted .324 (third in the NL) while leading the league in homers (39), RBIs (126), runs scored (115) and total bases (353). The 2011 All-Star also finished among league leaders in multi-hit games (57, tied for first), hits (195, second), slugging percentage (.586, second), extra-base hits (76, second), stolen bases (40, tied for second), on-base percentage (.399, fourth) and walks (74, tied for eighth).
Kemp became the seventh player in Major League history to finish the season ranked in the top three in homers, batting average, RBIs and stolen bases in their respective league, joining Hall of Famers Ty Cobb (1907, '09-11), Honus Wagner ('08), George Sisler ('20), Chuck Klein ('32), Willie Mays ('55) and Hank Aaron ('63).
In addition, he was the first Dodgers player to lead the NL in home runs and RBIs since Dolph Camilli in 1941, and the first Dodgers player in history to lead the NL in homers, RBIs and runs scored. He is one of five players all-time to eclipse 30 homers, 35 stolen bases, 100 RBIs and a .310 average, joining Ken Williams (1922), Barry Bonds ('92), Alex Rodriguez ('98) and Vladimir Guerrero (2002).
This year, Kemp was voted by his teammates as the winner of the Roy Campanella Award, which goes to the Dodgers player who best exemplifies the spirit and leadership of the late Hall of Famer; he's received the Hank Aaron Award as the most outstanding offensive player in the NL; the Baseball America Player of the Year Award; the NL Stan Musial Award, presented by the Baseball Bloggers Alliance; he won a Gold Glove Award and Silver Slugger Award; was named Players Choice outstanding player in the NL; was named to The Sporting News NL All-Star team and received the Oscar Charleston and Josh Gibson Awards as the NL MVP and home run champ, presented by the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum.

No comments:

Post a Comment